Award of Distinction Ceremony

Friday, June 24, 2016
11:15:00 AM -  12:00:00 PM

The Furniture Society is proud to announce two recipients of its coveted 2016 Award of Distinction:  Edward (Ned) S. Cooke, Jr. and Thomas Hucker. Their awards will be presented at a luncheon ceremony on June 24 at the Furniture Society's 20th anniversary conference in Philadelphia. Jonathan Prown, Executive Director and Chief Curator of The Chipstone Foundation, Milwaukee, WI will present the award to Professor Cooke, and Kalle Fauset, furniture maker and principal of the 49 Harrison Street Studio in Hoboken, NJ will present the award to Thomas Hucker.

This year's jurors -- Wendy Maruyama, Brian Gladwell and Peter Korn - said this about the 2016 Award recipients: "The measure of Ned Cooke's contribution to studio furniture making are the ways in which his scholarship has transcended academic boundaries to shape how contemporary furniture makers have come to understand themselves within a cultural/historical context. He has informed the language we use and the ways in which our work finds meaning in the broader culture."

Thomas Hucker is honored because of "...his perseverance and brilliance, the excellence of his cumulative body of work, and his inexhaustible passion for exploring new ideas."

There will be an introduction by Bebe Pritam Johnson, Chair, Award of Distinction program.

Ned Cooke and Tom Hucker will give a brief response after their awards have been presented.